East Riddlesden Hall
East Riddlesden Hall was built in 1642 by a Halifax clothier, Jame Murgatroyd. The property sits on slight rise with the River Aire below. The property is currently owned by the National Trust who provide guides to help you interpret the buildings extensive history.
The Hall has exquisite embroideries and blackwork, oak furniture and pewter, plus two Yorkshire Rose Windows. Within the grounds is one of Northern Englands finest examples of a tithe barn, measuring 120ft long by 40ft wide. The barn was originally constructed of wood, and was later clad in stone.
The gardens and grounds of East Riddlesden Hall are an attraction in themselves, the herb borders which were originally used for medicinal purposes now flavour the delicious soups available in the tea room. A riverside trail has been esablished with the emphasis on learning about the local wildlife.
Visiting East Riddlesden Hall
October: Saturday to Wednesday
November & December: Weekends Only
Baby Change Facilities
Children's Play area & grass maze
Outdoor Tracker Packs
There is a natural slope on thepathway to the house. Some footpaths are inaccessible and some are gravel. Mobility parking is available.
The main entrance to the house has three steps and alternative entrance for wheelchairs is available. Only the ground floor is accessible by Wheelchair, stairs with handrails lead to the higher floors.
Contact East Riddlesden Hall
Telephone: 01535 607075
Website: East Riddlesden Hall
Events at East Riddlesden Hall
Haunting Half Term
25 October - 2 November (Saturdays-Wednesdays)
Become a super sleuth on the self guided Murder at the Mansion Trail, then explore the autumnal gardens on the colour trail.